Ferenc Erkel

Brankovics György


June 8., Thursday 15:00

Opera House - Confectionary on the 3rd floor

Social music listening session

Ferenc Erkel's four-act opera Brankovics György was premiered at the National Theatre on 20 May 1874. The title character is the 15th century Serb despot whose life story was turned into a libretto by Ferenc Ormay and Lehel Odry based on the drama of the same title by Károly Obernyik. Although this opera about the controversial historical figure with no compunctions about supporting László V, László Hunyadi and the Turks over the course of his life was received coolly at its premiere, it also signalled the start of a new era for Erkel as a composer. The Wagnerian sprechgesang and choral recitatives and the delicate combination of the wealth of Hungarian, Serb and Turkish melodies make the opera a valuable work of music.

Hungarian-language discussion programme


Opera House - Confectionary on the 3rd floor
June 8, 2017
Start time
3 p.m.
End time
4:30 p.m.


Opera House - Confectionary on the 3rd floor