Symphonic Orchestral Concerts 2019/20
The Hungarian State Opera Orchestra's concert performance.

Wry originals and grotesque replicas — A concert of “rhyming” works

The four works being performed copy each other in a way that preserves their uniqueness. What links them to each other is the fact that, despite their apparent lightness, they conceal tragedy covered by a grotesque serenity. Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante, written for four solo instruments and an orchestra contrasts the coarse bustle of the city with the atmosphere of a sincere rural idyll. Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony proclaims, with all of its harmonies, that reality is in fact murderously dissonant. Weber’s heroic clarinet concerto sings of genuine pain, while Hindemith’s Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber harks back to the earlier German composer’s work.


Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1 in D major (“Classical Symphony”) Op. 25
Haydn: Sinfonia Concertante in B flat major (Hob. I/105)
Weber: Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F minor, Op. 73 (J. 114)
Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber

Featuring » Ottó Rácz (oboe), Zoltán Kovács (bassoon), Ágnes Soltész (violin), László Pólus (chello), Sándor Kiss (clarinet)

Conductor » Stefan Soltész (A)


Erkel Theatre
Jan. 20, 2020
Start time
End time


2019. September 30., Mon, 19:30
2019. October 28., Mon, 19:30
2020. January 20., Mon, 19:30
2020. February 10., Mon, 19:30